Page 1 of 4

Motherboard

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:54 pm
by [Aliens]Warriorjock
Hi my PC wont kick in. Saying ASUS installation incomplete. Dont know what is wrong. was playing game then paused it came back and wont work now.

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 7:05 am
by [Aliens]WITTY
I'll let wookie know

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:06 pm
by [Aliens]kronenbourg
Hi mate

Does it say anything else apart from just 'ASUS installation incomplete'? Does it give details of which Asus program/tool?

And just to doublecheck, you can't get to the desktop, only the BIOS and/or the page that says which startup you want.

Kro

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:42 pm
by [Aliens]kronenbourg
Check the bios under the tools tab and see if it is still enabled.

You can download it from Asus if that doesn't work.

http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?S ... EVO&p=1&os

Under the Utilities, ASUS Express Gate Installer V1.4.10.35 for Windows 32/64bit XP & 32/64bit Vista& 32/64bit 7.

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:11 pm
by [Aliens]kronenbourg
Someone at the pc forum asks:

does he actually use express gate?

I'm not sure what it is, but maybe Wookie can help, if you need it or not :)

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:15 pm
by [Aliens]kronenbourg
One of the hardware people say this:

What it does is to supply a basic os to access the internet, play music, etc. Just my opinion however I think it is worthless and I always disable express gate in the bios.

So, can you access it in the BIOS to disable it? It should be in the bios under the tools tab.

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:46 pm
by [Aliens]Warriorjock
ive disabled it in the bios and still it dont work. it came on today ok done some update or sumin on my c drive, i then played BF£for a bit left it for a while and agian it switched off and doing the same as before now :x :x :x :x

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 5:02 pm
by WOOKIE1974
how longs it running for before it shuts down? and is it after youve been gaming or just general usage?

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:27 pm
by [Aliens]kronenbourg
Okay, as I explained on the txts, it seems that a BIOS update may fix this, according the ASUS. Now, their site is slow as snails, and it may take many attempts to get in, but its their problem, not yours :wink:

So, just keep refreshing the page (taking me ages to even get in, let alone search)

Okay, so go here:

http://support.asus.com/download

And in there, in the search at the top Model Name Search, type in the motherboard:

M4N75TD

Then, select the OS, which I think is Windows 7 64-bit.

Then, under BIOS, look for the latest one, which is

M4N75TD 1701 BIOS

Its a ROM file, and like I said, I'm trying to get info on it, but ASUS is having problems.

Click to download it, the one that is on the left, underneath the details :)

I'll keep trying tonight, and tomorrow, and as soon as I get the details on it, I'll let you know, unless Wookie knows.

The file is about 800kb large, need to extract from the zip afterwards before burning (if you do have to burn, again, I'm trying to look for that).

I got your motherboard details from here:

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=3680

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:42 pm
by [Aliens]kronenbourg
Okay, looks like you can do it this way:

'I don't know why the BIOS flash didn't work, you just put it on a USB stick, reboot and go into the BIOS and use the update tool to locate the file. '

http://www.mmo-champion.com/threads/916 ... s-P8P67....

post 2

But, as ASUS is still slow, I'll let you know for definate when I can.

I assume you can't even get to the desktop, but if you can, you could try their update tool.

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:59 pm
by WOOKIE1974
i was thinkin bout this earlier and the only thing we didnt replace on the new pc was the hard drives, im just wonderring if its on its way out thats why sometimes its booting up and other times its not, this could also be why the bios update didnt work because if the pc shut down half way through the installation it wont know what the hell is going on with the drivers

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:03 am
by [Aliens]kronenbourg
So, would the new update with the BIOS ROM on a usb stick solve this issue?

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:28 am
by [Aliens]kronenbourg
Just realised what you said Wookie. Did Warrior update the BIOS before, as I know normally you have to initiate it yourself, it doesn't just update in the middle of gaming.

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:11 pm
by [Aliens]Warriorjock
Ok put onto usb stick and it updated. Never done anything different but then came up and said missing operating system. Also my version of BIOS was 1501 but the update was 1701 is that bad.

Re: Motherboard

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:36 pm
by [Aliens]kronenbourg
The 1701 was the updated number, from 1501. Can you get to Windows? Is that message all it says on bootup?