Major Problems...

Having software/hardware problems? Get help here!

Major Problems...

Postby =1PARA=Assassin » Sun Nov 26, 2006 11:08 pm

having major problems with my internet connection just now.
Can't log onto comms for more than 2 secs, keeping being disconnected from BF2, can't browse the web for more than 10 secs without webpages freezing and saying can't connect...
Don't know where to start to try and sort this, will reformat hard drive next weekend if I can't solve it any other way.
Till then... :(
Image
User avatar
=1PARA=Assassin
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: West Of Scotland

Postby [Aliens]kronenbourg » Sun Nov 26, 2006 11:19 pm

Is this a brand new, clean drive, or have you had it for a while, as in months? You may have some spyware on there.

If you have, go to http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe , and download 'Hijack This!'.
Doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

It will possibly show other issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.



Its a starting point, and I'll get some of my friends from ASAP (Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals) to take a look at it :)
User avatar
[Aliens]kronenbourg
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Bradford, England

Postby [Aliens]WITTY » Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:10 am

Try dowmloading that hitmanpro...that goot rid of all my spyware....PM me if you want the link coz i'm too tired to find it now mate sorry
Image
User avatar
[Aliens]WITTY
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1189
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:00 am
Location: Manchester

Postby [Aliens]kronenbourg » Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:26 am

Thanks witty, but it may be a little more in there :|

Assassin, this is what to do after the log you gave me. Send them via PM if you wish again:




Since you already has AVG Anti-Spyware, do this:

  • On the main screen select the icon "Update" then select the "Update now" link.
    • Next select the "Start Update" button. The update will start and a progress bar will show the updates being installed.
  • Once the update has completed, select the "Scanner" icon at the top of the screen, then select the "Settings" tab.
  • Once in the Settings screen click on "Recommended actions" and then select "Quarantine".
  • Under "Reports"
    • Select "Automatically generate report after every scan"
    • Un-Select "Only if threats were found"
Close AVG Anti-Spyware. Do Not run a scan just yet, we will run it in safe mode.


  1. Reboot your computer into Safe Mode. You can do this by restarting your computer and continually tapping the F8 key until a menu appears. Use your up arrow key to highlight Safe Mode then hit enter.

    IMPORTANT: Do not open any other windows or programs while AVG Anti-Spyware is scanning as it may interfere with the scanning process:
  2. Launch AVG Anti-Spyware by double clicking the icon on your desktop.
  3. Select the "Scanner" icon at the top and then the "Scan" tab then click on "Complete System Scan".
  4. AVG will now begin the scanning process. Please be patient as this may take a little time.
    Once the scan is complete, do the following:
  5. If you have any infections you will be prompted. Then select "Apply all actions."
  6. Next select the "Reports" icon at the top.
  7. Select the "Save report as" button in the lower lef- hand of the screen and save it to a text file on your system (make sure to remember where you saved that file. This is important).
  8. Close AVG Anti-Spyware and reboot your system back into Normal Mode.


Please go HERE to run Panda's ActiveScan
  • Once you are on the Panda site click the Scan your PC button
  • A new window will open...click the Check Now button
  • Enter your Country
  • Enter your State/Province
  • Enter your e-mail address and click send
  • Select either Home User or Company
  • Click the big Scan Now button
  • If it wants to install an ActiveX component allow it
  • It will start downloading the files it requires for the scan (Note: It may take a couple of minutes)
  • When download is complete, click on My Computer to start the scan
  • When the scan completes, if anything malicious is detected, click the See Report button, then Save Report and save it to a convenient location. Post the contents of the ActiveScan report



Come back here and post a new HijackThis log along with the logs from the AVG and Panda scans.

The above 2 logs can be sent via PM (2 if needed)
User avatar
[Aliens]kronenbourg
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Bradford, England

Postby =1PARA=Assassin » Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:25 am

I'll do this tomorrow mate... beginning to think that IE7 is causing the problems...
How do I revert back to IE6?
Image
User avatar
=1PARA=Assassin
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: West Of Scotland

Postby [Aliens]solifer » Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:38 am

I use IE7 and no problem at all, when i have internet :( :(
Image
Image
Camaro - If you don´t own one, you´ll never understand!
<<-Bönder är liksom en egen ras, precis som rörmokare och föräldrar->>
User avatar
[Aliens]solifer
General
General
 
Posts: 7136
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:31 pm
Location: Sweden Borlänge

Postby manc » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:50 am

my missus uses ie7, and has a problem with the screen locking up and being unable to display certain pages, just fails to load, dont think your prob is ie7 though, bf2 and comms would work fine :?
manc
Private First Class
Private First Class
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:47 am
Location: manchester

Postby =1PARA=Assassin » Tue Nov 28, 2006 3:29 pm

Anyone know how I can revert back to IE 6????? :( :( :(
Image
User avatar
=1PARA=Assassin
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: West Of Scotland

Postby [Aliens]Rimskiy » Tue Nov 28, 2006 3:50 pm

[Aliens]Assassin wrote:Anyone know how I can revert back to IE 6????? :( :( :(


Well I could only suggest you switch to something else, mate. IE sucks IMO 8) 8) 8)

Perhaps, try Opera... :)
Image
User avatar
[Aliens]Rimskiy
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Latvia/Riga

Postby [Aliens]kronenbourg » Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:00 pm

Here you go:

To uninstall Internet Explorer 7 to return to Internet Explorer 6 on Windows XP

Click "Start," and then click "Control Panel."
Click "Add or Remove Programs."
Check "Show Updates" at the top of the dialog box.
Scroll down the list and highlight the version of Internet Explorer 7 that you are running, and then click "Change/Remove." (If you are running Internet Explorer 7 Beta 2 Preview — March 20 or later, it is not necessary to check "Show Updates.")


http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/sup ... fault.mspx
User avatar
[Aliens]kronenbourg
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Bradford, England

Postby Spadess » Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:53 pm

Firefox* Cough*
Image
User avatar
Spadess
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:25 pm

Postby [Aliens]Rimskiy » Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:09 pm

solifer wrote:... seems like explorer 7 works better than firefox :twisted: :twisted:


Rimskiy wrote: IE sucks IMO 8) 8) 8)


So... Opera, then :lol: :lol: :lol:
Image
User avatar
[Aliens]Rimskiy
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Latvia/Riga

Postby [Aliens]Scandhi » Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:13 pm

Orrrrrr... FireFoxy!! :)
Image
Image
User avatar
[Aliens]Scandhi
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: Lake Vanern county


Return to Tech-support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron