PUNKBUSTER!!!!!!!!!!!

Having software/hardware problems? Get help here!

PUNKBUSTER!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby [Aliens]Nickelin » Thu Nov 13, 2008 4:45 pm

The fucking punkbuster is doing my head in!!! i get the message that PB.exe heartbeat stopped, now i tried to reinstal (in a folder) and updated it, and gone in to sevices.msc and restarted punkBusterA service and nothing seems to help!! Please help me i can´t play my beloved BF2 (and ofcourse i restarted the fecking pc one billion times) :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: this is a real problem!!! if im not able to play TONIGHT im comitting HARAKIRIUsing a BUTTERKNIFE :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Image
Image
Image

IT´S BETTER TO BURNOUT THEN FADE AWAY
[Aliens]Nickelin
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 7:21 pm
Location: Sweden/Söderhamn

Postby [Aliens]solifer » Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:03 pm

punkbuster A and B should be allowed by firewall.
Use PBSETUP and install it.

other than that i cant help.
Image
Image
Camaro - If you don´t own one, you´ll never understand!
<<-Bönder är liksom en egen ras, precis som rörmokare och föräldrar->>
User avatar
[Aliens]solifer
General
General
 
Posts: 7136
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:31 pm
Location: Sweden Borlänge

Postby =1PARA=Assassin » Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:13 am

Have you tried updating PB manually?
Image
User avatar
=1PARA=Assassin
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: West Of Scotland

Postby [Aliens]kronenbourg » Fri Nov 14, 2008 3:06 pm

Fucking pile of shite, this happened to me as well last night.

I updated via pbsetup, and then tried the newest version of pbsetup, but that didn't help. Worked for about 40 mins, then another sodding pb error message.

I got the handshake, losing packets, and heartbeat.

I've looked here:

http://forums.ea.com/mboards/thread.jsp ... 0&tstart=0

And I do have PnkBstrA and PnkBstrB running.

So, downloaded this here:

Q: I keep getting kicked for "Losing Key Packets"

A: If you Right click on "My Computer" > Manage > Services & Applications > Services > (look for 2 services PnkBstrA & PnkBstrB) Make sure they are NOT disabled and are started.

If one or both of those are missing, you can download this program: http://www. evenbalance.com/downloads/pbsvc/pbsvc.exe
It will reinstall both services and fix the problem


So, if it happens tonight, I'll try that tool.




======


Ah, look here like Sie mentions:

http://www.evenbalance.com/

Notice BF2:

Server is version 1.719, Client v2.140 | A1392

Now, I used the brand new pbsetup last night, and this is mine:

version 1.710, Client v2.140 | A1392

Spot the difference? Yep, the server version is WRONG.

Take a look here:

http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=dl-bf2.php

Okay, so here we go.....

First, I made a restore point in Windows XP, just in case :wink:

Then, look at the first in the page:

PunkBuster (BF2) Security Files
The following files are only needed if your PunkBuster doesn't update by itself. Right click the appropriate link below and choose "save as" to your "pb" folder - make sure the file you save is saved with the filename shown below.



So, I had a look in that folder, and I don't have pbsec.htm. So, I downloaded it to C:\Program Files\EA Games\BF2\pb folder (For Players)

Next up is this one:

PunkBuster (BF2) Player Client Files
The following files are only needed if your PunkBuster doesn't update by itself. Right click the appropriate links below and choose "save as" to your "pb\htm" folder - make sure the file you save is saved with the filename shown below. Players only need the files that correspond to their Operating System, Server Admins need all six files.



We're only interested in these two, as we're just players:

PB Client v2.140 for Win32 Filename: wc002140.htm
PB ClientA v1392 for Win32 Filename: wa001392.htm


I checked, again, in the folder, and whilst wc002140.htm is updated to yesterday, the wa001392.htm wasn't. So, lets get those manually as well, just to be safe.

This part: PunkBuster (BF2) Server Files Is not needed by us, the players.

So, lets ee if it works tonight :)
Image

Image
User avatar
[Aliens]kronenbourg
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Bradford, England

Postby [Aliens]kronenbourg » Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:46 pm

Warrior had problems today, so if you look at your pbsetup that you may have, it will show as version 3.2. That is old, you need the newer one.

Go to Evenbalence, and get the newest one. It says 3.2 on the site, but its actually 3.4 :|

It worked for Warrior, but not me. His version was updated to 1.719, I had to do it manually.

http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php
Image

Image
User avatar
[Aliens]kronenbourg
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Bradford, England

Re: PUNKBUSTER!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby [Aliens]kronenbourg » Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:07 pm

May need to update Punkbuster, and if the pbsetup doesn't work, try my fix :)
Image

Image
User avatar
[Aliens]kronenbourg
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 4665
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Bradford, England


Return to Tech-support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron