internet connections

Problems with the game, settings, servers or need advice on tweaks, installation etc... This is the place

internet connections

Postby ntilke » Tue May 01, 2007 6:25 pm

Wich is better wireless or wired because I have a very bad internet ploblems and with that I can't get in to vent and my dad is thinking about moving from tiscali to sky and it comes with a pack from sky with a wireless rooter and I do not know what to pick my modem or the wirless rooter
ntilke
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:26 pm

Postby [uf] Budball » Tue May 01, 2007 6:35 pm

This is a great tool for finding where faults are on a connection.

http://visualroute.visualware.com/

As for modem over router. The wireless connection adds a little extra ping but the router gives a much more stable connection.

The modem uses a lot of your processor and the router very little.

You can also plug you pc straight into the router via a network socket which gives the best result.

So on the whole I would plump for the router every time.
Image
User avatar
[uf] Budball
Gunnery Sergeant
Gunnery Sergeant
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: About 5 miles from XXIV

Postby ntilke » Tue May 01, 2007 6:58 pm

thank you for that advice I will try that then if I get it
ntilke
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:26 pm

Postby =1PARA=Assassin » Tue May 01, 2007 10:31 pm

Wired... definitely, no doubt about it. :D :D :D
Image
User avatar
=1PARA=Assassin
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: West Of Scotland

Postby ntilke » Wed May 02, 2007 2:53 pm

So I should go for a wired rooter then
ntilke
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:26 pm

Postby [uf] Budball » Wed May 02, 2007 3:11 pm

A wireless router is normally also a wired one.
Image
User avatar
[uf] Budball
Gunnery Sergeant
Gunnery Sergeant
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: About 5 miles from XXIV

Postby =1PARA=Assassin » Wed May 02, 2007 6:47 pm

I have a BT Home Hub wireless router.
Wired to main PC and wireless for the rest of the homes pc's and laptops... :D
Image
User avatar
=1PARA=Assassin
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: West Of Scotland

Postby ntilke » Thu May 03, 2007 3:10 pm

Ok but will wireless give me bad pings and Hit Detection that is what iam worrying about
ntilke
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:26 pm

Postby =1PARA=Assassin » Thu May 03, 2007 3:10 pm

Until you try mate, you won't know.
Nothing is guaranteed I'm afraid... :( :( :(
Image
User avatar
=1PARA=Assassin
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: West Of Scotland

Postby [uf] Budball » Thu May 03, 2007 4:02 pm

I run wireless and have no problems. :wink: :wink: :wink:
Image
User avatar
[uf] Budball
Gunnery Sergeant
Gunnery Sergeant
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: About 5 miles from XXIV

Postby ntilke » Thu May 03, 2007 5:08 pm

Ok so ther is nothing to worry about :D :D :D
ntilke
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:26 pm

Postby Spadess » Thu May 03, 2007 5:32 pm

[uf] Budball wrote:I run wireless and have no problems. :wink: :wink: :wink:


ditto
Image
User avatar
Spadess
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:25 pm

Postby =1PARA=Assassin » Thu May 03, 2007 5:46 pm

[Aliens]spadess wrote:
[uf] Budball wrote:I run wireless and have no problems. :wink: :wink: :wink:


ditto


Says the man who was disconnected 3 times in a ladder Match... :P :P :P


:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Image
User avatar
=1PARA=Assassin
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2654
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: West Of Scotland

Postby Spadess » Thu May 03, 2007 5:56 pm

I didnt want to make excuses :lol: :lol: But yes its only really when someone makes a call :| :| I play from a wirless usb so that may be where the problemo lie's lol
Image
User avatar
Spadess
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:25 pm

Postby [uf] Budball » Thu May 03, 2007 7:07 pm

[Aliens]spadess wrote:I didnt want to make excuses :lol: :lol: But yes its only really when someone makes a call :| :| I play from a wirless usb so that may be where the problemo lie's lol


You do have all your filters in the right places don't you. :wink: :wink:
Image
User avatar
[uf] Budball
Gunnery Sergeant
Gunnery Sergeant
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: About 5 miles from XXIV

Next

Return to Problems / Tweaks / Settings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron